Blue Springs and Grain Valley school board elections will be uncontested on April 4, while Fort Osage looks to have six candidates vying for three open seats after candidate filing closed Tuesday afternoon.

The Lee’s Summit School District, which recently named its next superintendent, will have 12 candidates vying for three spots, though none of the three incumbents filed for re-election.

School districts have to certify elections with the Jackson County Election Board by next Tuesday. Board members in all four districts serve three-year terms.

Blue Springs board members Kay Coen, Dale Falck and Dale Walkup filed to run for re-election, and no other candidates filed as of Tuesday morning. In Grain Valley, board members Jan Reding, Jeff Coleman and Tisha Homfeld will be re-elected, as no other candidates filed.

Fort Osage board candidates who filed as of Tuesday morning are Brice Stewart, Kelly Scott, Kirk Stobart, David Shrout, Christopher Gross and Gary Thompson. Stobart, Shrout and Thompson are incumbents. Scott and Gross ran in last year's election.

Those who have filed in Lee's Summit are Jacqueline Clark, Dennis Smith, Susan Coffman, Kim Fritchie, Carl Quijas, Mark Dziedzic and Ryan Murdock, Diego Gutierrez, Michael McMenus, Jill Dannaldson, Jill Worstell and Mark Augustin.

Current Lee’s Summit board members Terri Harmon, Chris Storms and Bill Baird did not file for re-election. Harmon had been board president until stepping down last spring amid the controversy surrounding then-Superintendent David McGehee's contract and his relationship with a principal in the law firm that represented the district at the time. At one point, Baird and McGehee each called for each other's resignation. McGehee later resigned and negotiated a separation agreement with the district.

The board last week introduced Dennis Carpenter, the current superintendent of the nearby Hickman Mills School District, as Lee’s Summit’s next superintendent effective July 1. Dave Benson has served as the district’s interim superintendent for the current school year.

The Independence School District does not have an election this year, as its board members serve six-year terms and elections are held on even-numbered years.