The Carthage Press
  • Carthage Area United Way sets fundraising goal at $300,000

  • Let the fundraising commence.
    • email print
  • Let the fundraising commence.
    On Thursday, the Carthage Area United Way held a kick-off luncheon to begin the 2013/2014 fundraising year. This year’s campaign chair, Amanda Fosdick, with Hometown Bank, announced to the crowd gathered at the Broadview Country Club that the goal this year will be $300,000.
    “I am very excited to be a part of the United Way,” Fosdick said. “I know we can meet and exceed this goal with the help of everyone here.”
    Local supporters and leaders of the 13 area agencies and organizations met the volunteer campaign cabinet, board members and watched a video on the United Way and how all donations help in various ways.
    Three years ago, the United Way started a Carthage High School United Way Student Advocates group. Since then, the group has grown and contributed with various fundraisers and promoted the United Way. Alex Kennedy, CHS junior and president of the group, has been involved since the group’s establishment.
    “It started out that I didn’t know anything about it, I just got involved through peer pressure – but the more I learned about what the United Way does, and who they help it all seemed so meaningful to me,” Kennedy said. “The money goes to such great causes, and it’s all given to people in need. That’s what’s great about this charity more so than others.”
    This year’s campaigning theme is “Our goal is not just about giving … It’s about living … United!”
    The 13 Area Agencies / Organizations benefiting from the Carthage Area United Way
    A.C.H.E. Dental Clinic
    Americna Red Cross
    Carthage Crisis Center
    Carthage Crosslines Ministries
    Carthage Salvation Army
    Cerebral Palsy of Tri-County
    Children’s Haven of Southwest Missouri
    Children’s Mercy Hospitals and Clinics
    Girl Scouts of the Missouri Heartland
    Ozark Trails Council Boy Scouts of America
    Jasper County 4-H
    Lafayette House
    Special Olympics Missouri
    – In 2012, these agencies served more than 14,000 children and adults
    2013/2014 Volunteer Campaign Cabinet
    Amanda Fosdick, campaign chair
    Tyler Smith, campaign vice chair
    Kimberly Fullerton, Division 1: business, industry and finance
    Robyn Paul, Division 2: small business and commercial
    Lonnie Heckmaster, Division 3: advanced gifts
    Bob Williams, Division 4: public service
    Bonnie Earl, county
    Tom Short, city
    Laurel Rosenthal, school
    Tracy Lemmons and Colette St. Peter, hospital
    Susan Wendleton, utilities
    Dr. Jon Haffner, Division 5: professional
    Page 2 of 2 - Board of Directors
    Jerry Poston, president
    E. Wayne Wilson, vice president
    Denise Robertson, secretary
    Amy Campbell, treasurer
    Amanda Fosdick, campaign chair
    Tyler Smith, campaign vice chair
    United Way executive director Jenny Mansfield and administrative assistant Janet Staggs may be reached at the United Way office, 616 W. Centennial Ave., at 358-2948 or email unitedway@ecarthage.com.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar