Area Master Gardeners were recognized at the annual graduation and recognition event earlier this month in Carthage.

CARTHAGE – Area Master Gardeners were recognized at the annual graduation and recognition event earlier this month in Carthage.  

A total of 54 Master Gardeners, family members and friends attended this year’s event.  
Fourteen area residents have completed the University of Missouri Extension Master Gardener training in Carthage.  

The Master Gardener program is for people who may or may not have gardening experience, but are eager to acquire knowledge and share it with others.

They have completed approximately 30 hours of training including topics such as vegetable and fruit production, insects, lawn care, trees and plant diseases.  

At the end of the training, they are asked to provide 30 hours of volunteer service to their communities during the coming year.  

The program is sponsored locally by the Jasper County University of Missouri Extension Council. The 2013 class members were Randy Craig, Samantha Craig, Jim Graffam, Gary Kyger, Amy Parker, and Gary Worley, of Joplin;  Mary Jean Hockman, of Diamond; Chasity Jensen, Liberal; Steve Jespersen, of  Carthage; Colleen Kendrick and Don Kendrick, of Neosho; Dawn Murrey, of Sarcoxie; Donna Wilson, of Lamar; and David Woodmansee, of Oronogo.

Those completing their certification are Marian Abrams, Mary Jo Brown, Jeanne Goolsby, Wesley Ritter, Reba Smith, and Karen Trotter, of Carthage; Brenda Coleman, of Carl Junction; Bob Myers and Debbie Woodmansee, of Oronogo; Bruce Stark, of Sarcoxie; Don A. Miller, of Carterville; Al Hashtroudi and Jean Owen, of Joplin; and Eric Osen, of Diamond.

Thirty-three maintained their certification by donating at least 20 hours, plus an additional six hours of continuing education, during the past year. Those maintaining certification for 2013 are Mel Anderson, Mary Bethel, Patty Compton, Beulah Courter, Conrad Feather, Amy Frieling, Dale Mermoud, Dennis Neil, Sharon Schrader, Bev Sturgis, Kerry Sturgis, and Pat Wakefield, all of Carthage; Nancy Beckwith, Charles Bentlage, Lou Anne Herron, Lee Hickman, Rita McClary, Kathy McGowan, Lee Rodriguez, Dorothy Steele, and Marilyn Wylie, of Joplin; Marty Bennett, Debbie Fedie, Carole Hayes, Betty Houser, and Edie Sullivan, of Carl Junction; Gary Davis, Purdy; Chuck Evans and Patty Poirot, Miller; Doris House, Loma Linda; Diane Volk and Richard Volk, of Duenweg; and Deborah Meyer, of  Jasper.

Specials awards were presented to Eric Osen, Rookie of the Year; Debbie Fedie, Coordinator’s Service Award; Mary Jo Brown, Lou Anne Herron Community Service Award; and Al Hashtroudi, Betty Holland Volunteer of the Year Award.

During 2012, local Master Gardeners donated over 3,568.4 hours resulting in over 2,460 contacts.

Additional information about the program can be obtained by contacting the Jasper County University of Missouri Extension Center in Carthage at 417-358-2158.